The Irish Times published my story (say what?!)

It’s officially Spring, how fab!

While writing this I’m looking out of my window in Dublin and the sky is doing that pretty thing it does every evening (ie the sunset).

It’s been two months since my last blog post (yikes!)

There’s no real reason for the lack of activity on this site, other than that I haven’t felt motivated.

Motivation drives me a lot, it always makes me want to do better than the last achievement I’ve done. I have these plans (there is currently five unfinished blogs sitting in my draft box), but if I don’t feel driven or bothered then I won’t get around to them.

But dear reader (hi how are you) my motivation is being renewed once more.

A part of it is down to the books I’m reading at the moment.

I picked up Marian Keyes new book Making It Up As I Go Along in Easons the last day. Her latest novel is an entry of all different journalistic pieces she’s written for various newspapers, magazines and websites in the last few years. I’ve missed her humorous and stereotypical Irish style of writing (anyone else pronounce sandwich, sangwidge? No? Just me then.) And it’s given me a burst of inspiration to start tapping away at my keyboard again.

Another book I’m reading at the moment is something I usually wouldn’t go for. The book is called Up With The Times by Conor Brady, it’s a recollection of Brady’s 16 years as editor for The Irish Times. The book so far is fascinating me and just like Marian Keyes book is bringing about my passion to write something (anything) once again.

The final reason why my motivation is sparking again is because a piece I wrote for a college assignment last November, was published on The Irish Times website in their student section over the weekend.

If you’re curious you can check it out here : http://www.irishtimes.com/student-hub/voice-of-the-deaf-fighting-to-be-heard-1.2569641

IMG_3414

I hope I never lose that excitement of seeing my name in print. I find it unbelievably humbling and thrilling to imagine that people will be able to read my words and maybe be left thinking about an issue they hadn’t contemplated in the past. That was the whole reason I decided to study journalism.

But now it’s time to start putting pen and paper again (as I’ve been told countless times, you’re only as good as your last story).

On a side note. I’ve been thinking of changing my blog name to something more memorable/ catchy, if anyone reading this has any ideas I’d love to hear them!

Bye for now!

x

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Irish Times published my story (say what?!)

Leave a Reply

