Review: Mockingjay Part 2

After three years, the Hunger Games franchise has come to a close.

I went to see the final movie Mockingjay Part 2 in the cinema last week and I thought I’d do a blog on my thoughts and reflections on the film.

WARNING: This blog will contain spoilers.

I love the Hunger Games series. I’ve read the book, I’m in love with the storyline and I’m invested in the characters. Up to this point the movies have been good in turning the words I’ve read into real life action. I thought the first movie was great, and the second and third movie (Catching Fire and Mockingjay Part 1) were excellent. I left the cinema each time feeling satisfied that what I saw had lived up as much as it could to the books.

I’ll be honest with you though, Mockingjay Part 2 was a let down.

Okay, before the hardcore fans get their pitch forks ready, let me explain.

In Mockingjay Part 1 the atmosphere was tense, electric and felt like it had purpose. While in comparison, Mockingjay Part 2 felt bland and had no direction. No one seemed committed to the fight any more, to the point where I began to feel bored during parts of the movie (always a bad sign).

Secondly, we need to talk about Prim’s death. After three years I’ve come to terms with her exit (just about), and I was looking forward to see how they decided to shoot one of the main characters unexpected  death scene.

Okay, here it was. Right so Katniss is trying to get to President’s Snow’s mansion. There’s confusion, there’s panic. Now look, Prim has popped her head up from no where. BANG. Millisecond later the bomb goes off. Done, gone. She’s dead. Now it’s the audience turn to be confused. And for me to frown at the screen. No. No. No. It’s not supposed to happen just like that. They should have shown Prim tending to the scared children, giving the audience some indication that she was a trainee doctor on duty. This would make us feel fondness towards Katniss younger sister. Maybe have Prim smile at Katniss. Then BANG. Explosion. Dead. Me= a weeping mess on the floor. I should have not been left dry eyed for one of the most important death scenes in the whole series.

Right, rant over (nearly).

Finally, the end scene. The scene where the three books and four movies come together and the audience feel like they can finally find some closure.

In my opinion they did it all wrong. Okay yes, we get the cute little moment between Peeta and his son, yes, yes, very nice. But next we have Katniss sitting on the grassy slope talking away to her baby. She’s giving the final monologue. But I can’t concentrate on what’s she saying, because the baby is the most photo shopped, digitally enhanced baby I’ve ever seen, so much so it’s laughable.

Like seriously, I musn’t have been the only one to notice it?

If it was up to me the final scene would consist of Peeta and Katniss holding each other, looking off into the distance. Next the audience would see their children running around the meadows, laughing, sunlight filtering through the trees. And then Katniss would begin her narrative as a voice over. Nice and simple, but moving at the same time.

Come on people, I want to have all the feels, is that too much to ask for?

The film had good qualities to it as well to be fair. Finnick’s death was dramatic,  the scene with the mutts had me covering my eyes, and when Katniss screamed at Buttercup  it really showed her grief for Prim’s death.

Though in the end I still left the cinema feeling the movie hadn’t achieved what the others in the series had.

What do you think? Did you think Mockingjay Part 2 was any good? Would you change anything, or did you think they did a good job?

Leave a comment below!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Mockingjay Part 2

  1. I liked the movie, though it wasn’t my favorite. I didn’t feel the way you did about Prim’s death, because I felt exactly what I felt while reading the book. I do agree about the epilogue, and that the movie should have ended with “real”, but I don’t think the baby was CGI, I think that her hair was a wig and that the surroundings were CGI and that it tainted the whole scene… =/

    Like

Leave a Reply

