Getting to know Dublin

Hey there!

This September I’ll hopefully be going to college in Dublin, which means I’ll also be living in Dublin. Since I didn’t know my way around the city very well, I thought it would be a good idea to grasp my bearings.

So off we went, my Mom, my brother and I, to the ‘big shmoke’

Last October I went to Dublin to go to an Ed Sheeran concert. It was up to me to get here, hang around Dublin for a couple of hours, and then get a bus out to my friends university in Maynooth. To make a long story short, because I didn’t plan my journey well enough beforehand, I was a very lost girl in a big city. It left me with an irrational fear of Dublin, that I knew I needed to get rid of.

DAY 1

Before leaving I was sent a message from my friend at work, giving me details of all the places I had to stop by. Thus armed with this, my folder full of maps, bus routes, and timetables we left Heuston Station.

After dropping our bags at the hotel, we ate at ‘The Duke’ (a nearby pub my aunt suggested)

After we went on the search for some Murphy’s Ice Cream, (if you’re a regular reader, you’ll know I’m an avid ice cream eater). I’ve been to the rest of their shops in Ireland, except in Dublin! We found it on Wicklow St, just off Grafton St.

IMG_0700

After our feed we went to do something that’s been on my bucket list for a while… visit the Book of Kells. The Book of Kells is an ancient manuscript that’s a huge part of Irish history. It’s located in Trinity College, one of the oldest and most famous college in all of Ireland.

Mom didn’t have much interest, so myself and my brother headed in. The first room you walk into is filled with information on the Book of Kells, showing how it was made and the symbolism behind the different decorations on the pages. I learned about the Book in art history, so I was already well informed on this area.

The second room held the Book of Kells behind a glass cabinet.

Interesting fact: The Book is made up of four different volumes, every day only two volumes are brought and laid out, with a new page being turned over.

While I was inspecting the book an American couple whispered to each other: ”Let’s guess which ones the fake one”, referring to the two books in front of them.

In fairness I know that not everyone would know that there’s four volumes of the Book, but I still had a face palm moment!

When we were ready, we headed up the stairs expecting to be going towards the exit. What we didn’t realise is that the Trinity Library was upstairs, also known as The Long Room.

It’s basically a long room (ha who would have guessed) that holds 200,000 of the Library’s oldest books.

IMG_0691

It was incredible. You enter the library and everyone is silent and full of respect, the place pulses history through it’s very core. The library at the time was currently doing an exhibition on Children’s Literature.

IMG_0695

 Along the centre of the room are a line of glass cabinets. They contain different children’s book ranging from old Irish folk tales to more modern classics. I got unbelievably excited when I found the Hunger Games and the Irish version of Harry Potter in the cabinets. I asked the security guard and he said that they were recently added to the collection. They will be there for future generations to see what children’s books were loved by our generation. This gives me such warm feelings, to know that the books I read and adored will be a part of history.

IMG_0697

DAY 2

The next day we walked around North Dublin area – O’ Connell St and the Ha’ Penny Bridge etc.

A name that kept popping up was Brother Hubbard, a small café that supposedly serves the best hot chocolate, in all of Dublin. To find out ourselves we went, and they weren’t wrong. You get a mug partially filled with a rich melted chocolate, and then you pour your jug full of steamed chocolate milk, into the mug = hot chocolate heaven.

IMG_0727  IMG_0730

After a comfort blanket of hot chocolate goodness we took the Luas, ( an overground version of the tube/ subway), out to Dundrum. And spent the rest of the day shopping.

All in all the trip was a great success, we didn’t get mugged or lost! (Though Google Maps did come in handy)

Also I’m proud of myself that I overcame my fear of Dublin, and now going there for college in September doesn’t seem as daunting.

I suppose the moral of this blog, (I wasn’t planning on doing a life lesson but sure there you go), is that it’s important to not let little things, hold you back from doing big things. 🙂

I’ll leave it at that!

Bye for now

Rearranging Stars

X

IMG_0707
A view of Dublin from the top of St Stephen’s Green Shopping Centre
4 thoughts on “Getting to know Dublin

Leave a Reply

