Book Update

Hey there!

In January I blogged about how I was taking part in the Goodreads Book Challenge, that I was challenging myself to read 50 books this year. It’s been a while since that blog, so I thought an update was long overdue!

To start off, I’ve read seventeen books so far this year (I know that mightn’t seem a lot by some people’s standards!)

I’m not going to discuss every book I’ve read to far, or else we’d be here all day!

Instead here are my favourite’s 🙂 :

The Great Gatsby- F. Scott Fitzgearld: I love reading books that have turned into movies and comparing the two. Though I’ve been putting off reading The Great Gatsby because I thought the language in the book would be really difficult to understand, since the book was published in 1925. (I only managed to understand Pride and Prejudice because we read it in English class). I was pleasantly surprised to find that it wasn’t the hardest book to read, (easier than Pride and Prejudice anyway!) and I actually really got into the storyline. Basically rich and mysterious guy Gatsby has everything he could want, but ‘the girl’. The whole story is told through the perspective of Gatsby’s pesimistic neighbour, which gives us a different view of this society surrounded by wealth.

Life of Pi- Yann Martel: Another book that has made it to the big screen. Quick rundown, young Indian boy lives a carefree life with his family and the zoo they own, until they have to move to Canada in order to seek a better future for themselves. Cargo ship that takes them across sinks, leaving the boy strandrad on a life boat with a tiger, an orangutan, a zebra and a hyena. At the beginning of the book during the author’s note, Yann Martel describes how he came across Pi’s story, so you’re left thinking the book is based on real life events. Yet in actual fact the authors note describes entirely fictional events. According to Wikipidea, ‘it serves to establish and enforce one of the novel′s main themes: the relativity of truth.’ I was left a bit baffled and think I missed a deeper meaning to the story. I think this is one of those books that will be added to my pile of ‘re-read in the future’. You know when you read a book twice or more, and than it all the sudden makes more sense than it did the first time? Yup I think it’ll one of those books!

Every Day- David Levithan: PUBLIC ANNOUNCEMENT! I have found a new favourite author! I love the plot line and how this story is written. Basically imagine if you woke up every day in a different body, you lived this person’s life for 24 hours and then the next day you wake up and your someone else. Now what happens if you fall in love with someone. What do you do then? Ok that’s all, now go and read this book, it really is good! (Another book by this faboulous man I would reccommend is Naoimi and Ely’s No Kiss List)

Gone Girl- Gillian Flynn: I’m sure you’ve all heard of this book, international bestseller, turned into a big ass movie etc etc. This book gets alot of mixed views but I really liked it, actually I loved it ( Simon Cowell moment). It’s made me realize that I love thrillers because I’m so gulible that I never know where the story will take me, even if it is plainly obvious to everyone else! ha.

The Secret Life of Bees- Sue Monk Kidd: You know when writing flows, when the words smoothly run into each other and the whole story is captivating and perfect. This is that book. Reading the blurb I wasn’t sure if I’d like this book or not, but I adored it. Sue has some serious writing talent and I was hooked from start to finish. What’s it about then? Set in South Carolina 1964 when racism was at an all time high, Lily, a young white girl and Rosaleen, her African-American maid run away together. Lily, from her abusive father and the guilt that she may have killed her own mother, and Rosaleen, from an unfair law punishment. They are taken in by three sisters, who make honey for a living. Living and working with the sisters, Lily learns valuable life lessons.

Woah! Long blog post, when it comes to books I find it hard to keep it short ha! If you’ve read this far, well done and thank you!

My question for you is, what’s been the best book you’ve read so far this year?

Bye for now

Rearranging Stars

x

One thought on “Book Update

Leave a Reply

