Art Classes

Hey there!

During the month of January work was pretty slow so to amuse myself I decided to start art classes. I’ve done art as a subject in school since I was twelve and since leaving school last year I feared that I might stop my hobby, because of lack of motivation to keep it up.

So on a cold January I signed up for eight weeks of art classes , my hope was that these classes would further fuel my interest for art and even teach me new skills. I wasn’t disappointed! I’m so happy that I chose to take on a new adventure and improve a skill that I love. Even though I was a good thirty years younger than every one in the class (!) it was still good fun and I learnt a few things along the way.

The main thing I wanted to improve on was portrait drawing, getting the features of a person to look more realistic and proportioning the face better. I began my sketching and painting a picture of a model I found in a magazine:

photo 1 (3)  At the time I was still practising proportioning so the eyes are slightly too big, and also the tone of the face is wrong. Though I’m happy how the hair turned out and the brushstrokes I used.

Disappointed with how the skin tone turned out in the last picture I decided I wanted to try to improve my use of tones using paint. My teacher suggested using grey tones to begin with as they are the best to use when learning about skin tones. I drew a sketch of Taylor Swift and then I painted her face using different grey tones (light, medium, dark):

photo 2 (7) This was only a practise picture so I wasn’t concentrating too much on details.

The other thing I wanted to try out was using different mediums. I always paint or sketch but I’ve never used chalk, mostly for the reason that I feared it would just end up as smudges on a page. I chose to draw a picture I saw on Pinterest. Surprisingly this was the easiest picture to draw!:

photo 3 (5)   photo 4 (3)

I had two final weeks left and my teacher suggested I draw an elderly person, someone with character, creases and wrinkles in their face. I think this is the picture I’m most pleased with 🙂 :

photo 3 (6) photo 1 (4) photo 2 (8) photo 4 (4)

To me art is like a source of meditation it helps me relax and I love how it unleashes my creative juices. That I’m able to begin with a plain sheet of paper full of possibility and finish with a picture that I created using my two hands.

If you could, what’s a skill you would love to improve? Let me know in the comments below!

Though I had an eventful January and February I’m glad to finally put the winter months behind me, because now we’re officially into Spring! And after three long months of cold and dark skies Spring is a welcome change!

I hope you’re all doing well!

Bye for now!

Rearranging Stars

x

Leave a Reply

