Let the Gap Year commence!

Hi there!

So I guess I’m officially on my gap year (hurray!).

I completed my Leaving Cert this year (which is like the equivalent to the A Levels in the UK and the SATS in America). For  most people the next stage would be university. Yet since I’m only the tender age of 17 and I don’t feel ready for the whole ‘university experience’, I thought I would take a year out. The prospect of having a whole year to myself, without the structure of strict timetables and demanding school bells is kinda weird. The thing I’ve promised myself though, is that I won’t let this year go to waste! So I’m going to write a list of everything I want to achieve and do this following year. 🙂

1)America. In October I’m heading over to my aunt in the USA for three months. I haven’t been there since I was four so this is a little adventure I’m anticipating hugely! I honestly can’t wait to get out of Ireland and see places beyond my front door. Also I’ll be over there for Thanksgiving which I can’t wait for! I don’t have a lot planned for while I’m over there, I’m mostly going with the flow and seeing where it takes me!

2)Experience. During my gap year I want to cram as much experience I can get in the media industry. Not just because it will look good on my CV but also I want to see what I’m getting myself into when I study the subject in university next year. I’ve already done experience with a local newspaper (hated) and radio station (loved). So television and magazine is my next stop.

3)Friends. When you’ve spent the last 17 years of your life living in the same town, knowing the same people it can be easy to get in a rut and forget there is more to life then this small town. So during this year I want to make as many new friends as I possibly can (while obviously keeping in touch with the old), because you never know what new experiences these friends can show you. I’ve learnt that these past couple of months with the new summer job I started. I met so many new friends and I also got to know people better.

4)London. After visiting the city this summer–see my first post https://rearrangingstars.wordpress.com/2014/08/22/my-love-for-london/  (sneaky plug 😉 ) I really want to make a return trip, but this time I’d love to bring my mom who has never been before. Already planning a girly weekend in London sometime in March/April

5)Work. I will be working during my gap year as well, in the same place I worked this summer…. an Ice Cream Shop! (It’s as fun as it sounds 😀 ) I love the job and working there this coming year isn’t a hassle at all!

Those are the five things I want to do for my gap year, obviously the list will grow when different opportunity’s arise but for now that is all.

Have you ever been on a gap year, what did you do? Or are you planning on taking a gap year in the future or do you think it’s just a waste of time? I’d love you know 🙂

My motto for this year: Open yourself up to new experiences and great things will happen

Bye for now!

-RS

Leave a Reply

